Presidential Primary: 25 APC Aspirants Submit Forms, Set for Battle


Adedayo Akinwale in Abuja

Twenty five presidential aspirants on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) beat the deadline (midnight yesterday) for the submission of forms ahead of the party’s primary slated for May 30 to June 1.
Party source revealed that former President Goodluck Jonathan, the Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria, Godwin Emefiele and the Minister of Labour and productivity, Dr. Chris Ngige did not submit their forms.

The aspirants that submitted forms are former governor of Lagos State, Bola  Tinubu; Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; former Minister of Niger Delta, Godswill Akpabio; former Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu; former Imo State governor, Rochas Okorocha and former Ogun State governor, Ibikunle Amosun.

Others are Pastor Tunde Bakare; Cross River State Governor, Ben Ayade; his Ebonyi State counterpart, Dave Umahi; Ekiti State Governor, Kayode Fayemi; former Minister of State, Education, Emeka Nwajiuba; former Senate President, Ken Nnamani; Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello;Jigawa State Governor, Mohammed Badaru Abubakar and former Zamfara State governor, Ahmed Yerima.

Also on the list of presidential aspirants that filed their papers are Senator Ajayi Borroffice; the only female aspirant, Uju Kennedy Ohnenye; Pastor Nicholas Felix Nwagbo; former Speaker of Representative, Dimeji Bankole; President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan; AfDB President,  Akinwumi Adesina; former Minister of State, Petroleum, Timipre Sylva, former Minister of Information, Chief Ikeobasi Mokelu and Tein Jack Rich.