Celebrating Women’s Day, Presidency Showcases 50 Amazons Serving in Buhari’s Government

Femi Adesina

Deji Elumoye in Abuja

No fewer than 50 women are serving in top positions such as ministers, head of service of the federation, special advisers and as heads of departments and agencies under President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration, according to data released yesterday by the presidency.

Media adviser to the president, Mr. Femi Adesina, in a statement, yesterday to mark International Women’s Day listed the appointees and the positions.

He said March 8 of every year is observed globally as International Women’s Day and the theme for 2021 is “Choose to Challenge.”
According to him, the celebration provides ample opportunity to reflect on how Buhari honours the womenfolk.
He, thereafter, listed ‘The Buhari Women’ to include seven ministers, head of the civil service of the federation, two special advisers, two senior special assistants, five directors-general, among others.

Adesina gave the names of the ‘Buhari women’ to include Zainab Ahmed, Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning; Sadiya Umar Farouq, Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development; Pauline Tallen, Minister of Women Affairs; Mariam Yalwaji Katagum, Minister of State for Industry, Trade and Investment; Sharon Ikeazor, Minister of State for Environment; Gbemisola Saraki, Minister of State for Transportation; Ramatu Tijjani Aliyu, Honourable Minister of State for the Federal Capital Territory (FCT); Folashade Yemi-Esan, Head of the Civil Service of the Federation; Mariam Uwais, Special Adviser to the President and Jumoke Oduwole, Special Adviser to the President on Industry, Trade and Investment, and Secretary of the Presidential Enabling Business Environment Council (PEBEC).

Others include Mojisola Adeyeye, Director-General, National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC); Hadiza Bala-Usman, Managing Director, Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA); Abike Dabiri-Erewa, Chairperson and CEO, Nigerians in Diaspora Commission; Chioma Ejikeme, Executive Secretary, Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate (PTAD); Patience Oniha, Director-General, Debt Management Office (DMO); Aisha Dahir-Umar, Director-General, National Pension Commission; Jummai A.M. Audi, Chairperson, Nigerian Law Reform Commission (NLRC); Yewande Sadiku, Executive Secretary, Nigerian Investment Promotion Commission (NIPC); Gloria Akobundu, National Coordinator/Chief Executive of New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD), Nigeria; Nnenna Akajemeli, National Coordinator/CEO, SERVICOM and Folashade Joseph, Managing Director, Nigeria Agriculture Insurance Corporation (NAIC).

Others include Cecilia Gaya, Director-General, Administrative Staff College of Nigeria (ASCON); Ronke Sokefun, Chairperson, Nigerian Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC); Aishah Ahmad, Deputy Governor, Financial System Stability, Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN); Stella Ojekwe-Onyejeli, Executive Director/Chief Operating Officer, Nigeria Sovereign Investment Authority (NSIA); Adejoke Orelope-Adefulire, Senior Special Assistant (SSA) to the President on Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs); Oge Modie, Senior Special Assistant (SSA) to the President on Strategic Communications; Toyin Adeniji, Executive Director, Micro Enterprises, Bank of Industry (Oversees the Government Enterprise and Empowerment Programme, GEEP); Stella Okotete, Executive Director, Business Development, NEXIM Bank; Omolola Abiola-Edewor, Executive Director, Nigerian Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC); Imaan Sulaiman–Ibrahim, Director-General, National Agency for Prohibition of Trafficking in Persons (NAPTIP and Lauretta Onochie, Personal Assistant to the President on Social Media, and INEC Federal Commissioner-nominee.

The rest of the Amazons are Dr. Yosola Akinbi – Senior Technical Adviser, National Economic Council (NEC) (Office of the Vice President); Dr. Balikisu Saidu, Senior Special Assistant Legal, Research and Compliance Issues (OVP); Prof. Fatima Waziri-Azi – Senior Special Assistant – Rule Of Law (OVP); Foluso Idumu, Senior Special Assistant On Administration (OVP); Lanre Shasore, Senior Special Assistant On Coordination & Planning (OVP); Dr. Ebi Awosika, Senior Technical Assistant On Community Engagements (OVP); Olaolu Beckley, Special Assistant On Documentation (OVP); Edewede Akhidenor – Special Assistant, Administration (OVP); Nkoli Anyaoku– Special Assistant, Administration (OVP); Dr. Lilian Idiaghe – Special Assistant, Legal (OVP); Tolani Alli – Special Assistant On Visual Communications (OVP); Toyosi Onalapo – Special Assistant On Community Engagements; Haijya Halima Bawa – Special Assistant On Community Engagements; Nonye Ojekwe – Special Assistant On Community Engagements; Koko Iyamusa – Special Assistant Administration (Wife of the VP); Fakorede Omotayo Basirat- Special Assistant On Special Duties and Omotayo Rachael Omowunmi – Special Assistant On Household & Social Events.