IG Appoints New CPs for Edo, Ondo, Oyo, Bauchi, Seven Others

Mohammed Adamu,
Mohammed Adamu

Kingsley Nwezeh in Abuja

The Inspector General of Police, Mr. Mohammed Adamu, has ordered the immediate posting and redeployment of new commissioners of police for 11 states.

A statement issued by Force PRO and Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP), Frank Mba, said CP Undie J. Adie is to preside over Osun State Police Command while Babatunde Kokumo is the new CP for Edo State command.

Others are Lawal Jimeta Tanko for Bauchi; Philip Sule Maku for Ebonyi State; Ahmed Maikudi Shehu for Gombe State and Bolaji Amidu Salami for Ondo State.

Other commissioners affected in the new posting include Joe Nwachukwu Enweonwu for Oyo State; CP Eastern Port is Evelyn Peterside; EOD is Okon Etim Ene; Airport Command is Bello Maikwashi; while Olukolu Tairu Shina is for Anti-Fraud Unit (FCID Annex Lagos).

The Inspector-General of Police charged the newly posted officers to ensure they consolidate and advance the gains of their predecessors particularly in the implementation of community-policing, crime prevention, public security, public safety and general crime fighting.

“The IG also enjoins the citizens of the affected states to cooperate with the commissioners of police to enable them succeed in their new areas of responsibilities”, it said.