Buhari Approves Appointment of 12 Appeal Court Judges


Alex Enumah in Abuja

President Muhammadu Buhari, on Wednesday, approved the appointment of 12 judges for the Court of Appeal, several months after the recommendations by the National Judicial Counsel (NJC).

Also approved were nine judges for the Federal High Court and 7 for the Federal Capital Territory High Court respectively.

According to a statement signed by the Director of Information at the NJC, Mr. Soji Oye, the 12 new Justices of the Court of Appeal are Justice P. A. Mahmud, Justice F. O. Ojo, Justice I. A. Andenyangsto, Justice G. O. Kolawole, Justice B. B. Aliyu, Justice Ebiowei Tobi, Justice J. G. Abundaga, Justice A. S. Umar, Justice A. M. Talba, Justice A. M. Bayero, Justice A. M. Lamido and Justice M. B. Idris.

Those elevated to the Federal High Court bench are; Sunday Bassey Onu, Mrs. Adefunmilola Adekemi Demi-Ajayi, Peter O. Lifu, Obiora Atuegwu Egwuata, Sa’adatu Ibrahim Mark (Mrs), Mobolaji Olubukola Olajuwon, Aminu Bappa Aliyu, Tijjani Garba Ringim and Nkeonye Evelyn Maha. While Binta Mohammed, Modupe Osho-Adebiyi, Gaba Venchak Simon, Babangida Hassan, Akobi Iyabeni Anna, Samirah Umar Bature and Asmau Akanbi Yusuf were appointed Judges of the FCT High Court.

The statement added that while the new justices of the Appeal Court will be sworn in by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, CJN, Justice W. S. N. Onnoghen, on Friday, those appointed for the Federal High Court will be sworn in on June 25. The swearing in of the new judges of the FCT High Court will take place at the Supreme Court on June 26.