Bands Jostle for Honours at Lagos High School Music Challenge


By Nseobong Okon-Ekong

A novel music contest for High school students and lovers of live music has been launched with promises for exciting times.

Known as the Lagos High School Music Challenge (LHSMC), it is a unique music contest aimed at harnessing talents among children and teenagers in the state while empowering and offering early guidance into the ever growing and exciting world of live music.

The programme which is opened to secondary students in Lagos debuts on June 20, 2018 at the Multi-Purpose Hall, Eko FM, Agidingbi, Ikeja, Lagos with over 30 bands vying for honours and various goodies, which are up for grabs.

The Executive Producer of the show, Mr. Biodun Kupoluyi, the Chief Executive Officer,Entertainment Media Limited, explained that, “the appalling trend of parading music illiterates as the elites of Nigerian music pushed us as an organization to birth this idea. The rich musical history that King Sunny Ade, Fela, Dan Maraya Jos, Bala Miller, IK Cairo, Ebenezer Obey, Osita Osadebe, Oliver De Coque, and all other great legends toiled to build is gradually being eroded and that is why we decided to challenge the next generation to help arrest the situation.”

Checks on the official website of the competition, shows that registration closed Thursday, June 14.

Kupoluyi revealed that the excitement among school pupils, music instructors and parents is high. He hinted that schools have since began rehearsals for the competition that will parade 15 of the 30 bands eliminated during the first round leaving the remaining contestants to face the battle in front of a panel of industry experts for the second round.

Solo talents in music will also be on stage to contest among themselves. Among the schools that have qualified for the finals are CMS Grammar School, Igbobi Junior High School, Supreme Education Foundation, Bishop Howell, Seolad Group of Schools, ZIggy Wisdom School, Living Stone Model School, Babington Macaulay, and Baptist Academy, Tesjok School, Command Day Secondary School, Ogudu Grammar School, Stadium Junior Grammar School and Agidingbi Junior Grammar School, among others.

The 15 qualified bands in the First Round tagged Knockout Series, as well as winners in solo-face-off, will move up to this year’s grand finale set for June 21which coincides with the globally celebrated World Music Day.

Contestants are to perform cover songs and original compositions during the competition.