Moses, Oshoala Win at Maiden Aiteo/NFF Awards


Chelsea of England and Super Eagles’ ace Victor Moses and reigning African Woman Player of the Year, Asisat Oshoala, emerged Nigeria’s best male and female players of the year respectively at the inaugural edition of the AITEO-NFF Football Awards at the Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos on Monday night.

Present at the award included; NFF President Amaju Pinnick, First Vice President Seyi Akinwunmi, FIFA President Gianni Infantino, FIFA Secretary General Fatma Samoura, CAF President Ahmad Ahmad and Governors of Lagos and Delta states, Akinwunmi Ambode and Ifeanyi Okowa.

Two former governors of Delta State, Emmanuel Uduaghan and James Ibori were also among the A-list guests at the event.
Former Nigeria internationals Segun Odegbami, Austin Okocha, Friday Ekpo, Christian Chukwu, Mutiu Adepoju, Daniel Amokachi, Garba Lawal, Emmanuel Okala, Felix Owolabi, Wilson Oruma, Femi Opabunmi, Ann Chiejine, Rita Nwadike were present at the awards, with some of them presenting awards to winners.

The award for the Young Player of the Year for Men went to 2018 CHAN defender Ikouwem Udoh while the Young Player of the Year for Women went to Super Falcons forward Rasheedat Ajibade.

Plateau United coach Kennedy Boboye was presented with the Men’s Coach of the Year award, while former Super Falcons goalkeeper and assistant coach Ann Chiejine went home with the Women’s Coach of the Year award.
MFM FC forward Sikiru Olatunbosun got the award for the Goal of the Year for his wonder strike against Rangers last season.
In other categories, the Fair Play award went to Nigeria National League club Remo Stars, the Fans of the Year award was presented to El-Kanemi Warriors supporters.

Channel TV Sports got Sports Station of the Year while Infantino was presented with the Platinum award. Also awards were given to a selected Nigerian Legends both men and women.

Speaking shortly after the event, former Nigeria Captain Olusegun Odegbami declared: “This is highly fulfilling. An Awards ceremony of this nature has been long overdue, but it is not surprising that the present NFF administration that has been taking giant strides and instituting a level and scope of development never before seen in Nigerian Football is the one to finally make this happen.

“On behalf of all generations, male and female, young and old, I salute the NFF and wish them the very best in their journey to take Nigerian Football to new levels of excellence.”
Top Nigerian artistes like Simi, Tiwa Savage, Kiss Daniel, Reekado Banks, Pato Ranking and Falz were on hand to thrill audience a the awards.


Player of the Year (Men):
Victor Moses
Player of the Year (Women):
Asisat Oshoala
Coach of the Year (Men):
Kennedy Boboye
Coach of the Year (Women):
Ann Chiejine
Young Player of the Year (Men):
Ikouwem Udoh
Young Player of the Year (Women):
Rasheedat Ajibade
Fairplay Award:
Remo Stars FC
Goal of the Season:
Sikiru Olatunbosun
Fans of the Season:
El-Kanemi Warriors
Platinum Award:
Gianni Infantino
Sports Station of the Year:
Channels Sport
Legends Eleven:
Ann Chiejine
Austin Eguavoen
Okechukwu Uche
Christian Chukwu
Segun Odegbami
Nwankwo Kanu
Felix Oowlabi
Thompson Usiyen
Mercy Akide
Adokiye Amiesimaka
Austin Okocha