2017 CAF Top Awards for Eagles, Coach, Oshoala

Femi Solaja
The National football team of Nigeria, Super Eagles of Nigeria and its coach, Gernot Rohr and Falcons of Nigeria forward,  Asisat Oshoala are some of the prominent names of personalities listed by the Confederation of African Football (CAF), in other categories of awards for the forth coming AITEO CAF Awards that will come up next year in Accra, Ghana.
The list completes the sets of categories after the initial list for the main awards, ‘African Footballer of the Year’ in which Nigerian Victor Moses with compete alongside
Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, who won in 2015, features along with a host of Europe-based stars, such as Sadio Mane of Senegal who came third in 2016.
Turkey-based Troost-Ekong and Junior Ajayi, of Egyptian side, Al Alhy as the only nominees for the African Footballer of the Year Award and African Player of the Year Based in Africa award respectively and was released early this month.
The other categories include Women’s Player of the Year, National Team of the Year (Men & Women), Youth Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Club of the Year and Referee of the Year.
In the list of Coach of the Year category, Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr, Hector Cuper who piloted Egypt to the World Cup, Hugo Broos of Cameroon, L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club) and Minayo Kazembe of TP Mazembe of Congo Democratic Republic complete the list.
Nigeria’s Osuala is among the list in the Women’s Player of the Year category which also include Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies), Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & Rossyanka) Rutendo  Makore (Zimbabwe & Black Rhinos) and
Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Kvarnsvedens)
Nigeria will compete alongside Cameroon, Egypt, Mali U-17 and Zambia U-20 for the National Team of the Year category.
The winners according to CAF, will be decided by votes from the members of the CAF Technical & Development Committee, CAF Media Experts Panel and Independent Media and TV Consultants.
Meanwhile, only members of the CAF Referees’ Committee will elect the Referee of the Year.
The Awards Gala will take place on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.
Women’s Player of the Year
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)
Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)
Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & Rossyanka)
Rutendo Makore (Zimbabwe & Black Rhinos)
Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Kvarnsvedens)
Women’s National Team of the Year
Ghana U-20
Nigeria U-20
South Africa
Coach of the Year
Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)
Hector Cuper (Egypt)
Hugo Broos (Cameroon)
L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)
Mihayo Kazembe (TP Mazembe)
National Team of the Year
Mali U-17
Zambia U-20
Club of the Year
Al Ahly
Mbabane Swallows
SuperSport United
TP Mazembe
Wydad Athletic Club
Youth Player of the Year
Eric Ayiah (Ghana & Charity Stars)
Krepin Diatta (Senegal &Sarpsborg)
Luther Singh (South Africa & Braga)
Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)
Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)
Referee of the Year
Bamlak Tessema (Ethiopia)
Ghead Grisha (Egypt)
Janny Sikazwe (Zambia)
Malang Diedhiou (Senegal)
Mehdi Abid Charef (Algeria)
Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)