Tears, Eulogies as Senator Nnaji Buries Late Wife


Christopher Isiguzo in Enugu

Tears flowed freely at Nike in Enugu state on Friday as the remains of the late wife of Senator Gilbert Nnaji, chairman of the Senate Committee on Communications, Princess Anne were laid to rest.

Amidst tears equally came torrents of eulogies and condolences from notable Nigerians led by President Muhammadu Buhari. Nnaji represents Enugu East Senatorial zone.

Speaking at the burial mass service officiated by the Catholic Bishop of Enugu Dioceses, Dr. Callistus Onaga, President Buhari expressed deep condolences to Nnaji, for the loss of his beloved wife.

The President who was represented by his Senior Special Assistant on National Assembly Matters, Senator Ita Enag prayed God to give Senator Nnaji and family the fortitude to bear the loss.

He said Mrs. Nnaji’s death has robbed off on the National Assembly as she contributed immeasurably in the positive output Senator Nnaji has impacted in the legislative activities of the National Assembly.

In his homily, the Vice Chancellor of Godfrey Okoye University Enugu, Very Rev. Fr. Prof. Christian Anieke caricatured death as an incident that has assumed many names due to its devastating impacts on people’s lives.

The clergy said that the late Princess Anne was everything that Senator Nnaji needed to succeed in life.

“The soul of Anne is in the hands of God and we pray it rests in peace,” Fr. Anieke said.

The clergy added that “if only the politicians knew that death will come, they won’t allow Enugu-Onitsha road to be the way it is now or allow Youths wallow in unemployment.”

Among notable personalities present at the burial were Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu state, Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu, Senate Minority Leader Godswill Akpabio, South East Senate caucus leader Enyinnaya Abaribe and former Senate President Ken Nnamani.

Others were Senators Chuka Utazi, Obinna Ogba, Andy Ubah, Hope Uzodinma, Mathew Urghogide (Edo), Peter Nwoboshi (Delta), Senator Uwajinobi (Imo) Ademola Adeleke (Osun), Clifford Odia (Edo) Senator Ogola (Bayelsa), Jim Nwobodo and Senator Sam Egwu (Ebonyi)