AITEO Cup: Fierce Battles in Ijebu-Ode, Benin City


Edo Queens defied all predictions to hold champions Rivers United to a 0-0 draw in their first leg, quarter-final match at the Yakubu Gowon Stadium, Port Harcourt on Wednesday and look forward with high expectations to Saturday’s return in Benin City.

Coach Edwin Okon and his crew were somewhat stunned not to secure a win over the visitors, but will also plan for an away win when both teams take to the pitch of the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium as the 2017 AITEO Cup competition hits the home run.

A place in the semi finals is what is on offer, just as it would be in six other venues where the quarter –final matches will be concluded on Saturday, and even in Uyo, where Akwa United and Katsina United are playing their first leg due to a postponement.

In Ijebu-Ode, a mouth-watering South-West derby is at hand as Osun United, 1-0 winners over NPFL side Sunshine Stars in the first leg played in Oshogbo on Wednesday, try to dig their feet into the ground for a place in the last four.

However, they have to be wary of the Omoluabi Giants’ ace forward Tosin Omoyele, a clinical marksman who has notched a number of important goals this season and got the lone goal in Oshogbo.

Another combustible arena will be the Rwang Pam Stadium, Jos where NPFL champions Plateau United will do all in their power to overturn a 0-2 first leg reverse against Niger Tornadoes in Lokoja.
At the same venue where Plateau United were brought down to earth (Confluence Stadium), Confluence Queens will look to turn the tide against Abia Angels, who won their opening leg in Umuahia by a lone goal.

ABS FC have a tough job at hand against FC IfeanyiUbah at the Kwara State Sports Complex, Ilorin, having lost the first leg 3-0 in Nnewi, while Lafia City Stadium is the setting for Nasarawa Amazons and Bayelsa Queens. The Queens topped the first leg 1-0.
In Calabar, Pelican Stars will also seek to overturn a first leg lone goal deficit against Ibom Angels

The return leg of the clash between Akwa United and Katsina United Feeders will hold at the Muhammadu Dikko Stadium, Katsina on Wednesday, 27th September.

AITEO Cup Q’final
(2nd leg Matches)

Nasarawa Amazons Vs Bayelsa Queens (Lafia: 0-1))
Pelican Stars Vs Ibom Angels (Calabar: 0-1)
Edo Queens Vs Rivers Angels (Benin City: 0-0)
Confluence Queens Vs Abia Angels (Lokoja: 0-1)

Plateau United Vs Niger Tornadoes (Jos: 0-2)
Sunshine United Vs Osun United (Akure: 0-1)
ABS FC Vs FC IfeanyiUbah (Ilorin: 0-3)
Akwa United Vs Katsina United Feeders (1st leg)