Women in Maritime Africa Launched in Nigeria


Women in Maritime Africa (WIMAFRICA), a continental body of African Women in the maritime Industry has been inaugurated in Nigeria with new executive elected to lead the organisation.

WIMAFRICA has national chapters in all African countries with headquarters in Angola, and is an institutional framework for capacity building, cooperation and entrepreneurship development of women in maritime sector.

The election, which was held at its inaugural meeting in Lagos, had Mrs. Jean Chiazor Anishere emerging as president.

In her acceptance speech, Anishere said that her regime would alleviate the hardship confronting women in the maritime industry.

Anishere further said that one of the objectives of the association was to promote collaboration between the national, regional and international maritime organisations.

Anishere is a former President of Women In Shipping and Trading Association (WISTA Nigeria) and present Vice President of WIMAFRICA at the Continental level.

According to her, the association will ensure advancement of gender equality in the maritime sector and support mainstream women participation in all aspects of “Blue Economy”

She said that focus would also be on “Policy, Advocacy, and Maritime Awareness.”

“WIMA Nigeria will promote human capacity development, enterprise and employment of women in all aspects of maritime sector. The association will ensure strategic leadership and serve as a voice for gender empowerment in the maritime sector. I will ensure that the association supports the advancement of women in the maritime sector in Africa. The newly-elected executives will assist to strengthen the maritime capacity in the Continent  in order to promote a safe, secured and efficient cleaner ocean,” Anishere  said.

She noted that the association had a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Africa Union in order to bring issues affecting women in maritime industry to the attention of the Commission.

Other members of her Executive are: Mrs.  Bola Muse – Vice President; Mrs. Mary Madu-Hamman, Secretary; Mrs. Foluke Akinmoladun, Assistant Secretary; and  Mrs. Affiong Israel Ibanga  as Treasurer. Others are Mrs. Taiwo Osun, Assistant Treasurer; Mrs. Carolyn Akum Ufere, Publicity Secretary; and Mrs. Jestina Memadu Ikpeeka as the Assistant Publicity Secretary. Three others were nominated as officers in the Office of the National Coordinator.