FG Inaugurates Governing Boards of NPA, NIMASA


Dele Ogbodo in Abuja
Following approval from President Muhammadu Buhari, the Minister of Transportation, Mr. Rotimi Amaechi, yesterday inaugurated the newly-appointed governing board members for the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) and the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA).

Amaechi charged both board members to justify the confidence reposed on them as boards members of NIMASA and NPA, to promote prudence, transparency, accountability, equity and fairness in the discharge of naming.

Inaugurating Mr. Emmanuel Olajide Adesoye, as Chairman for NPA along with the 10 board members, separately, in his office, in Abuja, he said, government restructured the agency to foster a robust, transparent, accountable organisation in line with international best practice.

Charging the members on their mandate, he said: “As governing board members, you are responsible for setting operational administrative policies in accordance with government policy directives aimed at assisting the Authority to achieve its mandate.

“You are also charged with the responsibilities for measuring performance against targets and introducing broad policy measures that will curtail any deviations to ensure that the targets are achieved.”
The minister stressed that as board members, it is expedient for them to work harmoniously with the management of the authority so as to achieve the objectives of government.

He said the minister gave the board of directors directions of general character or relating to general matters to the statutory body in the discharge of board functions, adding that he can also exercise control of parastatals at policy level through the board of parastatals.

The members of the board are: “Mrs. I. J. Uche-Okoro, Hadiza Bala Usman, Mohammed Bello Koko, Dr. Sekonte Davis, Prof. Idris Abubakar, Supo Shasore, Suleiman Ibrahim Halilu, Constance Harry Marshal, Umar Shuaibu and Charles Emukowhate Sylvester.

While also inaugurating the 11 NIMASA board members under the Chairmanship of Maj.Gen. India Garba rtd., he said, it was their duty to set operational administrative policies aimed at assisting the agency achieve its mandate.
The other 10 members included: “S. U Galadanchi, Ms. Nene Betty Dike, Admiral  Adeniyi Osinowo, Dakuku Peterside, Bashir Yusuf Jamoh, Joseph Oluwarotimi Fashakin, Gambo Ahmed, Asekomhe Otaakhia Kenneth, Mohammed Gidado Muazu and Hon. Beetle Obi.