Okiro: Why 21 Senior Police Officers were Retired


Dele Ogbodo in Abuja

Following the recent retirement of top ranking police officers which has generated controversy, the Chairman of the Police Service Commission (PSC), Mr. Mike Okiro, yesterday justified the exercise.

About 21 top police brass were retired in a recent shake-up of the force.
He said the retirement was done to achieve an effective, efficient and best policing of the country.

According to him, it is the norm to retire any senior officer, who may have issues of respect of authority when new appointments are made.

While calling for support for the new management team which was inaugurated in Abuja, Okiro said there was no need for the debate about the retired officers as its was done in good faith and in the interest of the force and the country

In a remark, the Minister of Interior, Lt. Gen. Abdurahman Dambazau (rtd), urged the new management team of the Nigeria Police to focus on crimes, violence, insurgency in the North-east, Niger Delta and in any other parts of the country.

Meanwhile, the acting Inspector General of Police (IG), Mr. Ibrahim Idris, has urged the new management team to uphold the virtuous of service discipline in order to provide quality leadership to the officers and men of the force.
He however noted that the focus of the team must always be on countering organised crime like robbery, kidnapping murder, corruption, communal clashes, politically-motivated crimes and the farmers, pastoralists crisis.

The decorated Deputy Inspectors General of Police (DIGs) are: Shuaibu Gambo, who will serve as DIG, Department of Finance and Administration; Joshak Habila, who will serve as DIG Department of Operations; Maigari Abbati Dikko, DIG Department of Logistics and Supply.
Others are: Emmanuel Inyang, DIG, Department of Training and Development; Ntom Chukwu, DIG, Department of Research and Planning;

Folusho Adebanjo, DIG Department of ICT, Hyacinth Dagala, who will serve as DIG, Department of FCIID; and AIG Abdul Bube, who has been appointed to serve as AIG Force Secretary.