Keshi’s Burial Committee to Be Inaugurated Today


The National Committee for the State Funeral of late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi (CON) who died on June 8, 2016 is to be inaugurated today by the Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Solomon Dalung.

The minister approved the constitution of the national committee which comprises family members, coaches, ex- internationals, a club owner, media practitioner, football administrators and representatives of the ministry, the armed forces and para-military.

According to the Special Assistant to the Minister, Nneka Ikem Anibeze, the committee will be headed by the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry Mr Christian Chinyeaka Ohaa while he is to be assisted by the President of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Mr Amaju Pinnick.

Other committee members include; Ambassador Joe Keshi, Emmanuel Ado, Jennifer Keshi, Dr Ifeanyi Ubah, Augustine Eguavoen, Joseph Yobo, Coach Fanny Amun, Austin Mgbolu, Mitchell Obi, Dr Mohammed Sanusi and Luka Jonathan Mangset.

Chief Tonobok Okowa will represent Delta State while Mr Prestley Ediagbonya is from Edo State. Prince Vincent Okumagba will stand in for the Nigeria Football Supporters Club while Brig. Gen U.O. Olatoye represents the Nigerian Army.
There is also Ayodele Titus from the Nigeria Civil Defence and Security Corps and a representative of the Nigeria Police.

Mrs Hauwa Kulu Akinyemi is to serve as secretary to the committee.
The Committee will be inaugurated at the conference room of the Hon Minister of Youth and Sports, Federal Secretariat, Abuja at 10.00am.