Ogunshola, Ibidapo-Obe, Ajetunmobi become Fellows, Nigerian Mathematical Society


Three distinguished mathematicians will be conferred with the fellowship of the Nigerian Mathematical Society on Thursday, June 30.

They are Chief Ajibola Ogunshola, Professor Oyewusi Ibidapo-Obe and Professor Michael O. Ajetunmobi.

They are among the 18 Fellows approved by the council of the society in 2016.

The event will take place at the conference hall of the Nigerian Academy of Science at the University of Lagos.

The conferment ceremony for the other Fellows had taken place at the 35th anniversary conference of the society at the Federal University of Technology in Minna earlier in the year. The 2016 fellows are Prof. K. R. Adeboye, Prof. A. U. Afuwape, Prof. M. O. Ajetunmobi, Prof. N. I. Akinwande, Prof. U. I. Asibong-IBE, Prof. C. E. Chidume, Prof. G. O. S. Ekhaguere, Prof. J. A. Gbadeyan, Prof. O. Ibidapo-Obe, Prof. F. I. Ochor and Chief Ajibola Ogunshola. Others on the approved list are Prof. J.A. Oguntuase, Prof. S. S. Okoya, Prof. P. Onumanyi, Prof. M. O. Osilike, Prof. B. Sani, Prof. A. R. T. Solarin and Prof. A. A. Tijjani.

The council of the NMS, which was founded in 1980 to promote teaching, research and scholarship in the tertiary institutions in Nigeria, instituted the FNMS award in 2015 with 12 beneficiaries. These were Prof. Iya Abubakar, Pastor E. A. Adeboye, Prof. J. N. Adiche, Prof. E. A. Akinrelere, Prof. S. A. Ilori, Prof. O. Akinyele, Prof. J. C. Amazigo, Prof. S. O. Iyahen, Prof. M. O. Kenku, Prof. A. O. Kuku, Prof. E. O. Oshobi and Prof. K. E. Osondu.