Sports Reform Committee Continues Retreat in Abuja


The Sports Reform Committee set up to fashion an enduring sports development architecture is having its third retreat in Abuja beginning thursday.

A statement from the committee said the opening day will be a closed session for members while Friday will be an open session featuring four presentations from very notable sports resource persons.

Those expected to make presentations are former Commissioner for Sports, Edo State, Brown Ebewele; former director NTA Sports, Akinloye Oyebanji; and former Director, Sports Medicine Centre of the National Sports Commission, Dr Muazu Abdulkadir.

Ebewele, an Olympian, will be talking on funding issues cutting across the three tiers of government while Oyebanji will present a paper on: “Sports in Nigeria – where we are and the way forward,”
Dr Muazu, a sports medicine expert, will among other things, be dealing with alternative sports-specific career paths in medicine.

The Sports Reform Committee which has Godwin Kienka as chairman include, Babatunde Fatayi-Williams, Prof Florence Adeyanju, Chief Segun Odegbami, Chief Mary Onyali, Col. Sam Ahmedu (rtd), Waziri Lamimu and Bola Orodele.
Others are, Dr Ademola Aare, Yusuf Datti, Kayode Thomas, Despan Kwardem and Ayo Olubato.