State Assembly Adopts Kano Emir as Permanent Chairman of Monarchs


Ibrahim Shuaibu in Kano

Kano State House of Assembly yesterday passed the Emirate Councils Amendment Bill 2020.

The Majority Leader of the Assembly, Kabiru Dashi, said the amendment made provisions for the Emir of Kano to serve as the chairman of the Council of Chiefs, thus putting the issue of rotation to an end.

He said: “In the new law, the number of kingmakers has also increased from four to five members, to allow for free and fair election of a new emir whenever there is vacancy.

“We have four kingmakers in each of the Emirate Councils in the case of death or removal, and we are trying to avoid a situation where two will support and two will reject.

“By increasing the number to five, it must be free and fair while electing an emir. And also, the new law will provide a three-day deadline for the election of a new emir.”

The majority leader added that the amended law had also changed the title of the Council of Chiefs to be referred to as the Council of Emirs.

The lawmakers, after considering the amendment at the Committee of the Whole, adopted the amendment to the bill.

The yesterday sitting of the Assembly was presided over by the Speaker, Abdulazeez Gafasa, and adopted the amendment during plenary.

In 2019, the Assembly approved the creation of four additional Emirate Councils, bringing the number of first class emirs in the state to five.

The new councils are Gaya; Karaye, Rano, Bichi, and the existing Kano Emirate Council.