APC Approves Mode of Primaries for States


By Onyebuchi Ezigbo in Abuja

The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has approved the mode of primary elections for the party’s governorship ticket scheduled to hold on Saturday across the thirty-six states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

According to a statement issued on Tuesday by the acting National Publicity Secretary, Yekini Nabene, the party said it had approved direct primaries for 18 states and indirect primaries for 19 others, including the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

States that will hold direct primaries are, Lagos, Imo, Abia, Akwa Ibom, Delta, Anambra, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Cross River, Edo, Ekiti, Kano, Niger, Ondo, Ogun,Taraba, Zamfara, Bauchi and FCT.

In the same vein, the APC said that it had approved the use of indirect primaries for Adamawa, Borno, Ebonyi, Enugu, Gombe, Kaduna, Kebbi, Katsina, Kogi, Nasarawa, Kwara, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Jigawa. Borno and Yobe states.

Going by the latest directive of APC, it appears that most state governors have had their way on the issue of mode of primaries.

Meanwhile, APC has banned the Adamawa State Working Committee from participating either as delegates or superintendents over the governorship primaries holding in the state.

“This is due to the fact that the Adamawa State Working Committee was prejudiced in favour of a governorship aspirant,” it said.