Foundation Rewards Teachers’ Excellence


Tunde Wahab

Meadow Hall Foundation, a subsidiary of Meadow Hall Group, has rewarded three teachers in Lagos State, for their commitment towards advancing the educational outcome of the Nigerian child and enhancing the quality of teaching.

The award, in two categories; the Inspirational School Leader of the Year and the Inspirational Teacher of the Year, saw Mrs. Oluremi Tanimola, Ms. Odueke Abiodun and Mr. Tolulope Odunsanya being rewarded with a cash prize of N2,000,000, N1,000, 000 and N500,000, respectively.

Speaking at the Inspirational Educator Awards 2017 (INSEA), Head of Meadow Hall Foundation,Mrs. Kemi Adewoye said the programme was part of its 15th year anniversary celebration, adding that the merit- based award is aimed at elevating the teaching profession, motivating school teachers and educational leaders to continue to strive for excellence in the profession.
She expressed delight about the awardees saying that despite their challenges, they are working hard to improve children’s access to quality education.

According to her, “one of the inspirational educators, Mrs. Oluremi Tanimola has been teaching for over 26 years, and she is technological savvy and most importantly has sustained her passion for education. Abiodun Odueke has also taken her passion to the total development of the Nigerian child beyond the four walls of her classroom to her community where she teaches secondary school drop-outs from her school and neighbouring schools about values/character education, and connects them to mentors and vocational trainers who help them acquire skills.”
She noted that Mr. Tolulope Odunsanya, was shaped by a mentor and is now inspiring other teachers to be passionate and innovative like him.

“There are inspirational stories all over Nigeria. This platform is to bring out their stories and inspire teachers to do more. The Inspirational Educator Awards for 2017 was opened to only educators in Lagos State. However, the award will be open to all teachers in Nigeria as from 2018. The need to advocate for the teaching profession and to inspire teachers to do more led to this award,” she said.

The Vice Chairman of the Meadow Hall Foundation Board, Mr. Nnamdi Okonkwo who presented the cheques to the winners at the well attended awards night held at Harbour Point, Lagos, admonished them to continue to strive for excellence in their teaching profession and to join the foundation’s ambassadorial team to advocate for quality education at all levels.
One of the winners, Mrs. Oluremi Tanimola who responded on behalf of other awardees, described herself as a team player, self-motivated and always learning something new.

“These coupled with my ICT knowledge made the difference. The desires to learn and do things differently are secrets of my outstanding performance.”
She advised all teachers to always learn from their fellow teachers, be self-motivated, and ensure continuous improvement/personal development.
The three winners were thrilled and full of appreciation to Meadow Hall, their students, fellow teachers, school management and Lagos state government for providing an opportunity to share their inspirational stories. They specially thanked Meadow Hall Foundation for their commitment, transparency and flawless process in selecting the winners of the Inspirational Educator Awards and keeping to their brand promise.

According to Mr. Tolulope Odunsanya, “a lot of people think rewards of teachers are in heaven only, but Meadow Hall Foundation has rewarded us while on earth.”
In recognition of her immense contribution to quality education, the foundation also presented the ‘Education Champion Award’ to the Deputy Governor of Lagos, Dr. Idiat Oluranti Adebule, who was represented by the Permanent Secretary, Deputy Governor’s Office, Mrs. Yetunde Odejayi. She thanked the foundation for the award and promised to continue to do more in enhancing quality and accessible education for all Lagosians.

Meadow Hall Group also celebrated members of staff who are committed to the organisation through their exemplary service and loyalty since its inception in 2002. Engr. Ibikunle Ogunbayo, Chairman Advisory Board of Meadow Hall Group presented the long service awards to the following deserving members of staff; Mr. Taju Popoola, Mrs. Victoria Ikpe, Mrs. Akpan, Mrs. Delphine Nnakwe and Ms. Rita Ekpenyong.
Popoola, who spoke on behalf of other recipients, said Meadow Hall Group gives staff the opportunity for continuous learning in a harmonious working environment.