WFM 91.7 Hosts 2016 Voice of Women Conference and Awards 


By Azuka Ogujiuba

Nigeria’s first female-centric radio station, WFM 91.7 held her second annual conference, ‘The Voice of Women Conference and Awards’ (VOW) 2016, in December, at Eko Hotels and Suites, Lagos.

The conference brought some of the most powerful and influential women and men who are top executives in various sectors of the economy- Finance, Agriculture, Technology and Entertainment -together to discuss, express opinions and share experiences on facing our future together and moving Nigeria forward with particular reference to the female gender.

The conference, which kicked off at 10am, had the wife of the president, Mrs. Aisha Buhari as guest of honour. She was ably represented by first lady of Kebbi State, Dr. Zainab Shinkafi Bagudu. Nigeria’s business tycoon, Mrs. Folorunso Alakija was chairperson.

Speakers, who graced the occasion include, Chief Executive Stanbic IBTC, Sola David- Borha, acting managing director, Bank of Industry, Waheed Olagunju, Richard Mofe Damijo (RMD), Chief Executive Officer, Cellulant Nigeria limited, Bolaji Akinboro, Funke Akindele-Bello (aka Jenifa), and Managing Director, Eko Electricity Distribution Company, Engr. Oladele Amoda. 

The conference closed with an award and dinner to recognise organisations and individuals who are voices to the causes of women development in Nigeria. Eko Disco won VOW 2016 Best Gender Empowering Company. Cellulant won VOW 2016 Best family focused organisation for its greatest impact on quality of life, economic prosperity and uplifting of the Woman and her family. Dr. Mrs. Sade Okoya won VOW 2016 Best female in business for exceptional performance, admirable leadership, business acumen and strategic foresight. “Above Whispers” won VOW 2016 Best NGO supporting Women and their families for championing and its commitment to the causes of Women. Lagos State WAPA won VOW 2016 Best government organisation, supporting women and their families for its highest level of gender empowerment through its programmes and policies.  Dr. Joe Odumakin won the highlight award VOW 2016 Person of the year for her excellence, ingenuity, achievements and unquestionable leadership in her field. Mrs. Anike Agbaje Williams, Africa’s first female broadcaster won the Lifetime achievement award. Bank of Industry was specially recognised for its support to entrepreneurship in Nigeria. Recognition went to RMD, Waheed Olagunju, Bolaji Akinboro and Engr. Dele Amoda for being strong Voices for Women.

Sponsors of VOW 2016 conference and awards include

Bank of Industry, Cellulant Nigeria limited, Eko Electricity Distribution Company and Hope Fashion. 

The organisers thanked their media partners – Vanguard, Guardian, AIT, TVC, Ebony Life TV, GoldmyneTV,  BOS International, TW, Genevive, Ovation, CityPeople, MediaPanache, The Capital, Women of Rubies, E24-7, YES International,, Blank Hut Media & Olorisupergal.

Empowering the women folk by giving them a VOICE is a core value of WFM 91.7 and the Voice of Women Conference & Awards is one of the forums by which we achieve this.