PDP Elects South West Officers, Denying Receiving Court Order


James Sowole in Akure

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the South West geo-political
zone on Saturday held its zonal congress in Akure, the Ondo state capital, where zonal officers were elected.

The zonal congress came against the Federal High Court, Abuja, order that the congress should not hold.

The leadership of the party in the zone had denied receiving any court order.

At the congess, where officers were elected on consensus except for the position of treasurer that was contested for by two people from Ekiti State, the former Commissioner for Information in Ondo state, Hon. Eddy Olorogun Olafeso, was elected the zonal chairman of the party.

Also elected at the congress, attended by the Governor of Ondo state,
Dr Olusegun Mimiko, and his Ekiti state counterpart, Mr Ayodele Fayose,
were the Zonal Secretary, Rev Bunmi Jenyo (Osun), Organizing Secretary,
Hon. Wasiu Bankene (Ogun), Youths Leader, Hon. Femi Adetola (Oyo) and
Women Leader, Mrs Ajigbeda (Ogun).

Others are the zonal Publicity Secretary Hon Abiola Makinde (Ondo)
Financial Secretary Chief Aifoji, Auditor Hon Biliaminu Ogundele
(Oyo), Treasurer Mr Adeola Ogunrinde (Ekiti) and the Legal Adviser Mr
Sunday Ojo-Williams (Osun).

It is worthy of note that officers were elected according to the zoning arrangement adopted by the leaders of the zone.

In the case of the position of treasurer that was contested by two people from Ekiti, Ogunrinde who was the candidate of Governor Fayose had 62 votes, while Kolawole had 12 votes.

Speaking at the event, Mimiko, who is the Chairman of the PDP Governors Forum, called for unity among all members of the party.