FG to Inaugurate Tripartite Committee on National Minimum Wage

Olawale Ajimotokan in Abuja

The federal government has announced that it will inaugurate a 37-man Tripartite Committee on national minimum wage with a mandate to recommend a new national minimum wage for the country.

The Director of Information, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Segun Imohiosen, said in a statement yesterday that the planned inauguration of the committee was sequel to the approval of President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

The inauguration is scheduled to hold tomorrow by 12 noon at the Council Chamber, Presidential Villa, State House in Abuja. 

The committee is chaired by a former Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Alhaji Bukar Goni Aji, as its membership cuts across federal government, state government, private sector and the organised labour.

The members include Minister of State, Labour and Employment (representing Minister of Labour and Employment), Hon. Nkeiruka Onyejeocha; Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Mr. Wale Edun; Minister of Budget and Economic Planning, Alhaji Atiku Bagudu; Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Dr. Yemi Esan; Permanent Secretary, GSO, OSGF, Dr. Nnamdi Maurice Mbaeri, and Chairman, NSIWC, Ekpo Nta, as the member/secretary of the committee. 

Also from the state government, it includes Niger State Governor, Alhaji Mohammed Umar Bago, governor representing North Central; Bauchi State Governor, Bala Mohammed, representing Northeast; Governor of Katsina State, Umar Dikko Radda, representing Northwest; Governor of Anambra State, Prof. Charles Soludo, representing Southeast; Osun State Governor, Senator Ademola Adeleke, representing Southwest; Cross River State Governor, Mr. Otu Bassey Edet, representing South-south.

From the Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association (NECA), they have Adewale-Smatt Oyerinde, director-general, NECA; Mr. Chuma Nwankwo, and Mr. Thompson Akpabio with members from the Nigeria Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA), including Asiwaju Michael Olawale-Cole, National President; Dr. Ahmed Rabiu, National Vice President, and Chief Humphrey Ngonadi (NPOM), National Life President.

Members from the National Association of Small and Medium Enterprise (NASME) are Dr. Abdulrashid Yerima, President and Chairman of the Council; Hon. Theophilus Nnorom Okwuchukwu, Private Sector representative; Dr. Muhammed Nura Bello, Zonal Vice President, Northwest, and also from the Manufacturers Association of Nigeria (MAN) are Mrs. Grace Omo-Lamai, Human Resource Director, Nigerian Breweries; Segun Ajayi-Kadir, Director-General, MAN; Lady Ada Chukwudozie, Managing Director, Dozzy Oil and Gas Limited.

From the organised labour, the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Joe Ajaero, President, NLC; Emmanuel Ugboaja, Prince Adeyanju Adewale; Ambali Akeem Olatunji, Benjamin Anthony, and Prof. Theophilius Ndukuba.

Also, members from the Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC) are Festus Osifo, President, TUC; Tommy Etim Okon, Deputy President I, TUC; Kayode Surajudeen Alakija, Deputy President II; Jimoh Oyibo, Deputy President. III; Nuhu A. Toro, Secretary-General; and Hafusatu Shuaib, Chairperson Women Committee.

Accordingly, members are advised to be early to process their clearance at the security gate and should be seated at the Council Chamber by 11.30 a.m. In addition, a shuttle bus will be available at the Pilot Gate to convey members to the venue.

In addition, members of the committee are to contact the Head of the Secretariat, Mr. Chiadi Adighiogu, and the director (Compensation) in the National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission for information.

Related Articles