Breaking: Tinubu Appoints Akinyelure NNPCL Board Chair, Retains Kyari as GCEO

Breaking: Tinubu Appoints Akinyelure NNPCL Board Chair, Retains Kyari as GCEO

*Approves two new permanent secretaries

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has appointed the Board and management team of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company (NNPC) Limited, with Chief Pius Akinyelure as Executive Board Chairman and Mallam Mele Kolo Kyari as Group Chief Executive Officer.

A statement signed by the Special Adviser to the President (Media & Publicity), Chief Ajuri Ngelale, Monday evening listed other members as Alhaji Umar Isa Ajiya, Chief Financial Officer; Mr. Ledum Mitee, Non-Executive Director; Mr. Musa Tumsa, Non-Executive Director; Mr. Ghali Muhammad, Non-Executive Director; Prof. Mustapha Aliyu, Non-Executive Director; Mr. David Ogbodo, Non-Executive Director; and Ms. Eunice Thomas, Non-Executive Director.

The statement noted that the appointments were, “In compliance with Section 59 (2) of the Petroleum Industry Act, 2021”.

The appointment takes effect from December 1, 2023, the statement added.

Also, President Tinubu has approved the appointment of two Permanent Secretaries. They are  Mr. Okokon Ekanem Udo,  Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Finance, and Amb. Gabriel Aduda,  Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Petroleum Resources.

“President Tinubu anticipates the fullest measure of compliance with the performance-driven and results-oriented mandate of his Renewed Hope administration in the implementation of energy policy that will monetize all available oil and gas resources of today while paving the way for the total exploitation of new and cleaner energy sources of tomorrow by this distinguished team”, the statement added.

Related Articles