APC Wins Guber Poll in Yobe

Alhaji Maimala Buni

Michael Olugbode in Maiduguri

The National Secretary of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Alhaji Mai Mala Buni, has been declared the winner of the governorship election in Yobe State.

Buni, the APC candidate, beat all comers to the seat after winning in all the 17 local government areas of the state.

The Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Abubakar Musa Kundiri, who announced the result late Sunday night, said Mai Mala Buni of APC scored 444,013 beating his closest opponent, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Ambassador Umar Iliya Damagum, who polled 95,703 votes.

The exercise, which was a one-horse race as the result showed, was generally peaceful in the state.

Meanwhile, the victory of Buni was greeted by wild jubilation throughout the state as supporters of the APC were busy celebrating all through Sunday night and early Monday morning.