Eight PDP House of Assembly Members Return Unopposed in Niger


By Laleye Dipo in Minna 

Ahead of Saturday’s primary election for the nomination of candidates to fly the flag of the Peoples Democratic Party  (PDP) and contest for the Niger State House of Assembly election in 2019 elections, eight aspirants have already being returned unopposed as the candidates for the elections.

Two of those who were returned unopposed were former lawmakers who lost their seats in the 2015 election while one was a local government chairman.

The eight will now slug it out with the yet to emerge candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and other political parties in Wushishi, Mashegu,Katcha,Mariga Edati,Bida1, Kontagora11 and Lavun constituencies.

The State House of Assembly is composed of  27 members presently made up of 26 APC lawmakers and one PDP. 

State Chairman of the PDP Alhaji Tanko Beji said on Saturday after the screening and clearance of 61 aspirants among them three women, stated that everything to ensure “a free and fair election” had been put in place.

Tanko Beji disclosed that the delegates to elect the candidates had been put in place saying that he was sure that at the end of the shadow election all the contestants would go home “smiling”.