Masari Swears-in 34 Transition Committee Chairmen


    Francis Sardauna in Katsina
    Following the confirmation of 34 nominees as the Transition Committee Chairmen (TCC) by the Katsina State House of Assembly, Governor Aminu Bello Masari had sworn in these nominees as the chairmen of the 34 Local Government Areas (LGAs) of the State.

    Governor Masari recently sent 34 names to the state House of Assembly for screening and confirmation.

    At the swearing in ceremony at the Government House yesterday, Masari said his intention was to conduct election but the ‘opposition’ dragged the All Progressives Congress (APC) administration to court on the tenure of the dissolved LGA chairmen.
    “Although we won the case, but the opposition proceeded to the Appeal Court in Kaduna. The court case is meant to prevent my administration  from having a structure at the local government level”, Masari explained.

    The governor said he earlier vowed not to breach the law but had to bend the law for the emergence of the transition committee chairmen because of the circumstances.
    The governor reiterated that the appointees would be given each a list of councillors to assist them in the discharge of their assigned responsibilities.

    He said the committee chairmen were taking over almost a bankrupt local government system but urged them to be prudent and accountable in the management of resources.