6 Kano Assembly Members Defect to PDP


    By Ibrahim Shuaibu in Kano

    Six members of the Kano State House of Assembly on Wednesday defected to the Peoples Democratic Party from the ruling All Pprogressives Congress.

    Reading the defection letter of the APC members to the PDP at the House plenary session on Wednesday, the Speaker, Honourable Kabiru Alhassan Rurum, revealed that the members said it became necessary for them to leave their previous party and join the PDP.

    According to the letter, their decision was based on the premises that the party had failed to meet the aspiration and yearnings of the people they represent.

    The defectors, from six local governments, include Yusuf Babangida Suliaman representing Gwale, Rabiu Saleh from Gwarzo, Zubairu Mahmud from Madobi, Yusuf Abdullahi Falgore from Rogo, Hamza Sule Bichi from Bichi and Isiaku Ali Danja from Gezawa.

    With their defrction, the Kano House of Assembly now has seven PDP members out of the 40 members.

    The House members’ defection to PDP came less than twenty-four hours after the defection of the former deputy governor, Prof. Hafiz Abubakar, and his 10 aides to PDP.