We now know the fixture list for the LaLiga Santander 2018/19 season. Games will begin on the weekend of August 18th/19th, the standout encounter being a game pitting together two of LaLiga’s UEFA Champions League representatives, Valencia CF vs. Atletico Madrid at Mestalla.

Champions FC Barcelona kick-off their title defence at home to D. Alaves, led by former Barça player Abelardo Fernandez, while European champions Real Madrid will begin the Julen Lopetegui era by welcoming local rivals Getafe CF to the Santiago Bernabeu.

The first Clasico of the season, which will see Barça host Real Madrid at the Camp Nou, will take place on Matchday 10 (27-28 October) while the reverse fixture at the Santiago Bernabeu will be on Matchday 26 (2-3 March).

Every LaLiga season is filled with exciting derby matches and this year is no exception. Both the Seville derby (R. Betis vs. Sevilla FC) and Valencia derby (Levante UD vs. Valencia CF) will be played on Matchday 3 (1-2 September), while Real Madrid will host Atletico Madrid in the first Madrid derby of the season on Matchday 7 (29-30 September).

The historic Basque derby between Athletic Club and Real Sociedad is scheduled for Matchday 8 (6-7 October) while the first instalment of the Catalan derby between RCD Espanyol and FC Barcelona will be played on Matchday 15 (8-9 December).

As part of this pack you’ll also find a link to a video explaining the use of an ‘asymmetrical’ fixture list this season. It explores how this system is used in other leagues and why it is now being used in LaLiga. This new kind of fixture list will be applied in LaLiga Santander, LaLiga 1l2l3 and the Liga Iberdrola for the 2018-19 season.