Abubakar Sani Bello
Abubakar Sani Bello

Niger State Governor, Alhaji Abubakar Sani Bello, wednesday swore in 14 newly appointed commissioners with a strong warning that any of them with separate agenda from that of the state government will be shown the way out.

Bello also told the new commissioners that the administration has zero tolerance for corruption, and as such, they should resist any temptation to illegally tamper with public funds.

“These are not times to seek personal glory or fame and we shall not hesitate to show anybody the way out once we discover that he or she has a separate agenda other than that of serving the people

“I encourage you not to see yourselves in competition with either elected office holders or another appointee rather as a key stakeholder and partner in progress, support and complement one another in our collective effort to improve the lives of the people,” the governor warned.

He also asked them to have “deep understanding” of their mandates as well as what was going on in other ministries other than their postings, adding that the government would not tolerate any laxity and disrespect for established rules and regulations.

According to him, “More importantly, each of you will be accountable for whatever transpires in your ministries during your tenure, hence you must be prepared to provide responsible leadership; take firm decisions without fear or favour; stand by them and monitor the execution of programmes and projects under your watch.”

The governor also submitted that his administration was determined to ensure meaningful development in the state as such, “every member of the council must bring to bear their wealth of experience on new assignment.He assured them that the remaining commissioner nominees yet to be screened would be cleared by the House of Assembly soon and inaugurated at the appropriate time.

Of the 14 commissioners sworn in, two are women while eight are members of the dissolved cabinet.
In the new postings announced by the governor, Mr. Nasara Dan Mallam was returned as Commissioner for Justice; Hajia Fatima Madugu retained the Ministry of Education while Zakari Jikantoro was also retained in the Ministry of Local Government. Dr. Mustapha Jibrin was also returned and retained in the Ministry of Health.