Twenty players have been invited by the Nigerian Basketball Federation (NBBF) for the first phase of camping ahead of the 2018 Commonwealth Games.
In a memo signed by the Secretary General of the NBBF, Chimezie Asiegbu and sent to the respective clubs, the camping exercise which will be supervised by the duo of D’Tigers Assistant Coaches, Abdulrahman Mohammed of Gombe Bulls and Aderemi Adewunmi of Kwara Falcons will open in Lagos on January 5.
The 20-man list is dominated by seven players from Kano Pillars while Gombe Bulls who recently made their continental debut have four in the provisional list.
Mark Mentors of Abuja have two players while ASPAC Basketball Club of Benin, Rivers Hoopers, Bauchi Nets, Kwara Falcons, Niger Potters and Civil Defenders of Abuja all have one player each on the list.
Also on the list is Bulls inspirational Captain, Yakubu Abdulwahab, Mark Mentors reliable leader, Usman Musa and Kano Pillars three-point legend, Usman Abubakar.
A member of the 2017 Afrobasket silver winning team and Most Valuable Player of the FIBA Africa Zone 3 Club Championship elimination, Abdul Yahaya was expectedly recalled to the fold alongside Dike Azouma who powered the D’Tigers to their first 3×3 continental trophy in 2017.
Pillars Captain, Ogenyi Mathew will also have a chance to fight for national team jersey alongside fast rising Okpe Ocheibi Victor who was named as part of the starting five during the club championship elimination.
The D’Tigers will be participating in the XXI commonwealth Games, 2018 Gold Coast, in Queensland, Australia between April 4 and 15, 2018.
According to NBBF, players and officials are expected to report to camp with their training kits and travelling documents as traveling arrangements and registration of players are expected to commence immediately.
1.       Yakubu Abdul Wahab                  -Gombe Bulls                                                                   
2.            Usman Musa Mohammed        –  Mark Mentors          
3.            Usman Abubakar                         – Kano Pillars
4.            Saliu Precious Osigbodi            – Aspac
5.            Okpe Ocheibi Victor                    – Mark Mentors
6.            Okeke Jamil                                     – Gombe Bulls
7.            Ogenyi Mathew                            – Kano Pillars
8.            Koko Victor Anthony                – River Hoopers
9.            Istifanus Yakubu Sylvanus     – Gombe Bulls
10.          Dung Eli Abraham                       –  Kano Pillars
11.          Dike Azuoma                                  – Kano Pillars
12.          Akita Akpata                                  – Bauchi Nets
13.          Ademola Dele Daniel                 – Kano Pillars
14.          Abdul Yahaya                                – Kano Pillars
15.          Dennis Ibikoro                              –  Unattached
16.          Godwin David                               – Kwara Falcon
17.          Ibe Abuchi Agu                              – Gombe Bulls
18.          Gideon George                             – Niger Potters
19.          Subel Lucky                                    – Kano Pillars
20.          Joel Ejigba                                      – Defenders
1.            Abdulrahman  Mohammed   – Coach                                                          
2.            Adewumi Aderemi                    – Coach