ATCON, Instinct Wave Unveils Nominees for Innovation Awards


Emma Okonji

The Association of Telecoms Companies of Nigeria (ATCON) and Instinct Wave are set to hold this year’s edition of Telecoms Executives and Regulator Forum (TERF). They have equally unveiled nominees of various award categories for the maiden tech innovation and telecoms awards, scheduled to hold in Lagos. The TERF forum and the maiden awards will hold on the 10th and 11th of November respectively, in Lagos.

Running into the fifth year, TERF has not failed to attract high-level participants from regulatory authorities and technology stakeholders to discuss common policies and regulatory issues in the Information and Communications Technology (ICT) sector.

The forum is expected to provide stakeholders with deeper understanding and knowledge of current policies, regulatory best practices, information and emerging issues and chart the way forward for a sustainable environment and growth of the ICT sector in Africa.

The organisers promised to make the maiden tech innovation and telecoms awards, a befitting one that will be full of credibility. The reputable awards, under the umbrella of ATCON and powered by Instinct Wave, Africa’s leading B2B event organiser, promises to showcase excellence in the technology and telecoms sector.

The Chief Executive Officer of Instinct Wave, Mr. Akin Naphtal, said the forum and awards would bring together, exceptional brains that have in one way or the other, contributed to the growth of ICT in Nigeria. He said all mechanisms have been put in place for the selection of the most qualified for the awards, which he said, would be given purely on merit. “Reputable judges have been assembled to help in the selection process, and they will recognise organisational performances, products and services, innovations, executive and management teams, women in ICT and successful deployment of Corporate Social Responsibilities (CSR) initiatives, as contained in their respective entries,” Naphtal said.

President of ATCON, Mr. Olusola Teniola said the awards were billed to recognise and reward organisations and individuals that are at the forefront of innovation in the sector. “The awards are designed to redefine how excellence in the ever growing ICT services in Nigeria is recognised with motivation,” Teniola said.

Nominees for the awards have been grouped into various categories and winners will emerge from each category and they will be announced at the awards night. The categories include; Telecoms Wholesale Company of the Year, Customer Experience Awards in ICT and Telecoms, Telecoms Infrastructure Company of the Year, Indigenous Software Company of the Year, 4GLTE Provider of the Year, ICT Company of the Year, Telecoms Business of the Year, Tower Company of the Year, Managed IT Services Provider of the Year, Cloud Service Provider of the Year, and Mobile VAS Company of the Year, among other categories that were unveiled.