Nigerian Executives, Professionals Launch  G-57 Group


A new group, the G-57 on the nations 57 Independent anniversary was introduced to the country, as the Nigerian PUP culture, which it says will promote Peace, Unity and Prosperity (PUP) as its main objective.

At the launch of the group yesterday in Lagos, the association made up of 57 top Nigerian executives, professionals and entrepreneurs committed to Nigeria’s peace, unity and prosperity vowed to help Government and other critical stakeholders unleash the nations latent economic potential.

The G-57 Governing Board is chaired by a former group Managing Director of Transcorp, Tom Iseghohi.

He disclosed that the group has now attracted 600 like minded Nigeria professionals with a followership of 250,000 in their collective personal capacities even before yesterday’s launch.

“It is auspicious to announce the formation of the G-57 today as a symbolic activity to mark our independence anniversary and a commencement of the implementation of practical initiatives designed to help all stakeholders in the Nigerian project and experience of our unfortunate underperformance as has been the case for far too long,” Iseghohi asserted.

He emphasised that the objectives of the group will be achieved by channelling privately raised funds towards supporting strategic causes and people aligned with same objectives. “We call our vision the Nigerian PUP culture (or PUPC) because we envisage people of al tribes and cultures working peacefully together in unity of purpose to drive the prosperity inherent in our human and natural resources,” the leader of the group said.

As part of the G-57’s founding ideology it says “we are good citizens of Nigeria and want to leave behind a respected, strong, peaceful, united and prosperous Nigeria adding that the group will expose fellow citizens to our vision of Nigeria and build a committed mass of Nigerians with similar moral compass.

Other objectives include reuniting Nigerians around common values, morality and objectives vowing to secure the next general elections to ensure voters really decide the outcome. Some prominent members of the group on its Governing Board include, Dr. Okey Ikechukwu, Architect Nene Lanval, Zakari Mohammed and Uche Ofili.

Others include Henry Erimodafe, Monday Morgan, Ireti Kingibe, Stephen Onerhimen, Dapo Adelegan, Philomena Desmond and Meekan Mgbenwelu, Air Vice Marshal Monday Rika Morgan (rtd) and AVM Abdulahi I. Shehu (rtd), among others.

Iseghohi said plans were in top gear for a public outing of the group as soon as practicable.

He said the conference has as it theme: ‘Strategies to Achieve Sustainable Development Goals in Water Resources.’

Olumese explained that the conference would also focus on Climate Change and inter-basin water transfer, surface and groundwater resources management, environmental monitoring and restoration as sub-theme.