Apapa Community Rejects APC Chairmanship Candidate


By Mary Ekah

Community members of the Apapa Local Government have expressed displeasure over the choice of Mr. Elijah Owolabi as the chairmanship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Apapa Local Government. They rejected Owolabi on the grounds that Ward E, which he belongs has provided eight candidates for 10 consecutive years. The people are therefore saying that Ward E should give a chance to other Wards in the Apapa Local Government.

During a press conference by a group of community members in Apapa recently, they called on the Acting President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, to come to their rescue.
According to the Party Leader, Ward C, Mr. Bayo Adesanya, ”Ward E is dominating Apapa and it is injustice. Owolabi is from Ward E. That ward has been producing the chairman in the last 10 years.

“We reject him because he is not saleable. He is from Ward E, the same ward that has been dominating the Apapa in the past 10 years. We, as APC party members on ground in Apapa, know that he will ruin our party political interest and victory in the next election,” Adesanya said.

 Alleging that Owolabi and his predecessor have been boasting that the Acting President, Yemi Osinbajo nominated them and nothing could alter this, Adesanya however, expressed satisfaction over the Acting President’s style of leadership, noting that, “Osinbajo is a good man and no one should discredit his name. He therefore called on the presidency to rescue them from this set of people while the APC National Leader, Bola Ahmed Tinubu, should do something immediately.”

Meanwhile, representative of the Apapa youths, Oluwasegun Moses, spoke tenaciously against the continuous choice of Ward E as their representative.
“Wards A, B, C and D have not been happy for years now. Owolabi and his team members have been playing politics of exclusion since he was made the Chairmanship Candidate.”

Moses claimed that 85 per cent of the youths were displeased, angry and frustrated, describing the situation in the party local government as shameful.  “It is painful that with all our loyalty and steadfastness, we are still given a candidate we do not want.”

Other APC members present to express their displeasure and sadness included Jimoh Salami Mucheche Ward A; former Speaker and Apapa Local Legislative Council Ward B; Woman Leader of the Group, Hajia Bola Yakub Ward D; former leader of Apapa Local Council Ward C, Mr. Alloy Odok Ayim; Mr. Muri Kaffo Ward D representing Maritime; Secretary of the group, Iduh Jeremiah; Community Leader, Apapa, Mr. Ganiu Bello; former Counsellor from Ward A, Mr. Joe Bassey and the Party Leader, Ward D, Apapa, Mr. Gibraltar Njowusi among several others.