By Sylvester Idowu in  Warri

The Vice Chancellor of Federal University of Petroleum Resources, (FUPRE) Effurun, Delta State, Professor Akii Ibhadode has assured that the institution was prepared to design low cost modular refineries in line with the Federal Government policy towards finding a lasting solution to the Niger Delta crisis.

He however disclosed that lack of funds was stalling the production of outcome of several researches and developments as well as infrastructural facilities in the last 10 years since the school was established.

Professor Ibhadode, at a pre-convocation press briefing on Thursday evening, said FUPRE had a great role in the development of modular refineries by coming up with low cost design that Nigerian investors could afford.

“What we find in the international market is well beyond what Nigerians can key into. So we want to come up with designs that are low cost in terms of construction and operation. We have started looking in that direction to come up with designs that are accessible by Nigerian investors”, he said.

The FUPRE Vice Chancellor disclosed that the school would be graduating 795 in its first convocation since the establishment of the university on March 14, 2007.

“We are indeed gladdened by the fact that the university is now set to release about 795 high-fliers that through dogged commitment have been adjudged in character and learning to represent the true vision of excellence and relevance being the hallmark of the mandate given to the university.

“We are therefore proud to celebrate to that milestone because of these 795 great minds from six sets (2011 to 2016) being released through this convocation to the world, 25 are graduating with first class honours degrees.

 That is, 11 from the College of Science and 14 from the College of Technology” , he added.

Aside the graduating students, Professor Ibhadode also disclosed that Honorary degrees will be awarded to His Eminence, John Cardinal Onaiyekan, the ArchBishop of Abuja Dioceses; His Royal Majesty, Abe 1, Emmanuel Sideso, Ovie of Uvwie Kingdom; Sir Daniel NwannkaChukwu; Olorogun Moses Taiga and Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, former Vice President in recognition of their contributions to their communities, state and nation at large.