Integrity Forum’s Night of Tributes


Stories by Funke Olaode

Promoters of the Integrity Forum Initiative (IFI) appear to be living in the best of times as the objective of the not-for-profit organisation is in line with larger intentions of the government of the day.

Little wonder then that its recent outing in Abuja had the First Lady, Mrs. Aisha Buhari, as the special guest of honour and the Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed as chief guest of honour. The President’s Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Mr. Femi Adesina was also in attendance.

The Minister of Information and Culture was represented by Samuel Soughul, a Director in the National Orientation Agency while the Inspector General of Police, Idris Ibrahim was represented by the Commissioner of Police, FCT, Usman Baba Alkali now an Assistant Inspector-General of Police. Country Focal Person of West African Women Association (WAWA) Nigeria Chapter, an affiliate of ECOWAS, Dr. Beatrice Abel Ubeku was also present.

Others in attendance were Senator Colonel Isa Kachako (rtd) who was also the Chairman of the occasion, guest lecturer Prof. Sabit Olagoke of Federal Polytechnic Ilaro, Alhaji Hassan Koguna the Dur’bin Kano and Alhaji Shaban Nizazo, the Etsu of Kwali FCT the Father of the day, and Prof. E.T. Eshett, of Federal University of Technology Owerri (FUTO) as well as over 70 Integrity Ambassadors.

Birthed by the Integrity International Magazine, IFI seeks to institutionalise the culture of integrity. The Abuja event marked its fifth anniversary with a lecture on ‘Nation Building and Imperative of Fostering the Virtues of Integrity, Patience and Tolerance for Achieving National Goals and Aspirations’, which was delivered by Prof. S.A. Olagoke.

The Professor emphasised that democracy and development cannot flourish in a society that lacks functional education and functional religion to address moral challenge of teaching and instilling the core values of integrity to prepare for the task of nation building.
The night of tributes was presided over by Senator Isa Kachako.