Sirawoo Elected New SWAN President


Hammed Shittu in Ilorin

The Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) wednesday elected Mr. Honour Sirawoo as the National President of the association.

He was returned unopposed at the election which held at the Kwara State Council of Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) in Ilorin.

Speaking after his election, Mr. Sirawoo charged the federal government to come up with its strategic blueprint for the nation’s sports development.
This, he said that, would go a long way in demonstrating its seriousness in the revamping of the sports sector in the country.

He also advocated a reappraisal of the act establishing the National Institute for Sports (NIS) with a view to upgrading the centre to a degree awarding institution in the country.
Sirawoo said that such development would properly equip coaches and others in the administration of sports in the country.

He also said that, “to facilitate the process of reaping effectively from the three trillion dollars in global sports business, we recommend the establishment of a sports university with campuses and facilities located in areas peculiar to particular sports.

“This institution, just like the Petroleum Training Institute, Law, Medical and Journalism schools will refine the raw sports talents abound in our land for a guaranteed market besides putting our youths off vices”.

The president decried members of the association seeking financial assistance from the government or corporate bodies under various groups. He also banned the various groups operating independently away from the umbrella body at the congress

According to him, “All forums and groups within SWAN are hereby banned while every members and officials of the association seeking assistance or support from the government, corporate bodies or individuals in the name of SWAN at all levels must henceforth seek clearance from the national secretariat”.

Other elected national officers of the association include, Mr. Wale Alabi, (VP North West), Mr. Ado Salisu, (VP South East), Mr. Cajetan Nkwopara, (Financial Secretary), Mrs. Jibo Zakari, (VP South West), Mr. Ajayi Adeboyen (Treasurer), Mr. Abdulraheem Audu amongst others.