Afelokhai, Ifeanyi Matthew Lead NPFL All-Stars for La Liga Tests


Enyimba goalkeeper Theophilus Afelokhai, Kano Pillars star midfielder Ifeanyi Matthew and Rangers forward Chisom Egbuchulam have been named on a 35-man squad to open training camp in Abuja Monday ahead of a series of matches in Spain next month.

A letter signed by the Chief Operating Officer of the League Management Company, (LMC), Salihu Abubakar, directed the invited players to report for the first phase of camping that will open on July 11 and end on the 18th.

The letter said the players during the period will be released to play for their clubs in League and Federation Cup fixtures. The second and final phase of the camping will open on August 1 leading to the team’s departure on August 8.

The squad was selected by a poll of coaches of the NPFL carried out to pick players for the different positions.

The NPFL All-Stars will while in Spain play a pre-season friendly with Valencia CF and also participate in the annual Carranza LaLiga World Club Tournament in which they will play against Malaga CF on August 12 and 13.

The list is made up of four goalkeepers, eight defenders, three defensive midfielders,seven central midfielders, seven wingers and six center forwards.

The squad

Goalkeepers – Emeka Nwabulu (Wikki), Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyIUbah (Sunshine Stars), Okiemute Odah (Lobi Stars)

Defenders: Matthew Etim (Rangers), Ifeanyi Nweke (Nasarawa United), Chima Akas,Chinedu Udoji (Enyimba), Gabriel Wassa (Niger Tornadoes), Austin Obaroakpo (Abia Warriors) Jamiu Alimi (Pillars) Emmanuel Ariwa (Akwa United)

Midfielders: Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (MFM), Dare Ojo (Enyimba), Dayo Ojo ( Sunshine Stars), Obinna Nwobodo (Rangers), Otun Fawaz (Shooting Stars), Rabiu Ali, Charles Henlong, Ifeanyi Matthew (Pillars), Ibrahim Alhassan (Wikki Tourists), Frederick Obomate (Rivers United)

Forwards: Emeka Ogbuh (Heartland), Sikiru Olatubosun, Stephen Odey (MFM), Chisom Egbuchulam (Rangers), Ezekiel Bassey ( Enyimba), Shadrach Oghali (Warri Wolves), Bashir Abdulrahman (Nasarawa United), Bata Mohammed (El Kanemi Warriors) Godwin Obaje (Wikki), Ismaila Gata (IfeanyiUbah), Anthony Okpotu (Lobi Stars), Ibrahim Mustapha (El Kanemi Warriors), Abiye Moses (Ikorodu United)