Neymar, 37-year-old Prass Headline Brazil’s Olympic Squad


Bayern Munich’s Douglas Costa and 38-year-old Palmeiras goalkeeper Fernando Prass will join Neymar as Brazil’s three overage players at the Rio Olympics, Coach Rogerio Micale announced wednesday.

Captain Neymar will return to the squad after sitting out of this month’s Copa America Centenario in the USA in order to lead the quest for gold.

Olympic squads are made up of at least fifteen under-23 players, born on or after January 1, 1993. Each nation is permitted to name up to three overage players.

A FIFA spokesperson confirmed earlier this month that “clubs are not under any obligation to release players for the tournament, irrespective of the player’s age as Rio 2016 is not included in the men’s international match calendar.

Paris Saint-Germain defender Thiago Silva was rumoured to have made the 35-man preliminary squad, which was not made public, but has missed out along with fellow Olympic hopefuls Willian, Filipe Luis and Miranda with suggestions their respective European clubs were not willing to release them for the competition.
Thiago Silva has not appeared for his country since Copa America 2015.

Five-time world champions Brazil is desperate to secure the one remaining title for which it is yet to win.
It will be the second time in two years the Selecao will attempt to lift a major title on home soil following World Cup 2014, when their campaign ended in the ignominy of a 7-1 semi-final defeat to Germany.

Previous coach Dunga was set to lead Neymar and Brazil into the Rio games but his dismissal last month saw Under-20 coach Micale handed the reigns.

Brazil kick have been drawn in Group A of the Rio Olympics men’s football tournament and kick-off their campaign against South Africa in Brasilia on August 4.

Goalkeepers: Fernando Prass (Palmeiras), Uilson (Atletico Mineiro).
Defenders: Luan (Vasco), Rodrigo Caio (Sao Paulo), Marqunhos (Paris Saint-Germain), Douglas Santos (Atletico Mineiro), Zeca (Santos), Willian (Internacional).
Midfielders: Rafinha (Barcelona) Rodrigo Dourado (Internacional), Fred (Shakhtar), Thiago Maia (Santos), Felipe Anderson (Lazio).
Forwards: Neymar (Barcelona), Douglas Costa (Bayern Munich), Gabriel Barbosa (Santos), Gabriel Jesus (Palmeiras), Luan (Gremio).