National League to Commence May 7


The Congress Nigeria National League (NNL) wednesday in Abuja resolved that the 2015/2016 League season would kick off on the weekend of May 7, 2016.

At the Congress held at Top Rank Galaxy Hotel, Abuja, the league body also agreed to have an abridged league format of eight teams in four different groups.

Kaduna United, Sokoto United FC and Kogi United and five others have all been grouped in Group A1 in the new format. Group A2 has heavyweights like Kwara United, FC Taraba and Gombe United – all former NPFL clubsides.

Group B1 has, among others, Rivers State FA Cup champions Go Round FC, Remo Stars and Delta Force FC while ABS FC, Gateway FC, Bayelsa United FC and Prime FC of Oshogbo are part of Group B2 setting.

Speaking at the event, Chairman of the NNL Ad-hoc Committee and NFF 1st Vice President, Seyi Akinwunmi, stated that the committee had to go for an abridged league format because of the time already wasted as they aim to have a league that would be successful and productive.

He further noted that barring any last-minute change to the proposed kick-off date, the league should be concluded in good time.

The 1st-placed teams in all four groups automatically pick the qualification ticket to the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL).
Sokoto United
Kaduna United
Kogi United
Shekarau Babes
Katsina United
Fc Yarmalight
Mighty Jet
Jigawa Stars

Adamawa United
Kwara Unted
Fc Taraba
Wikki Feeders
Supreme Court
Fc Zamfara
Dreams Fc
Gombe United

Remo Stars
C.O.D Utd
Delta Force
Go Round
Unicem Rovers
Sharks FC
Akwa Starlet
Abia Comets

Crown FC
Prime FC
J. Atete FC
Bayelsa Utd
First Bank
Gateway Utd
B. Insurance