Emmanuel Addeh in Yenagoa

Mr. Konbowei Benson, the lawmaker who was recently sacked by the Court of Appeal in Port Harcourt, was yesterday re-elected Speaker of the the Bayelsa State House of Assembly.

Benson, a former speaker of the assembly emerged victorious in a rerun poll conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Southern Ijaw Constituency IV about two weeks ago.

THISDAY learnt that Benson was inaugurated as a member of the assembly and reelected by the lawmakers as their speaker, a week after receiving his Certificate of Return following his re-election.

Benson and Michael Ogbere, who won the rerun election in Ekeremor Constituency III were inaugurated during the sitting presided over by the Deputy Speaker, Mr. Abraham Ingobere.

The Deputy Leader of the assembly, Mr. Tonye Isenah representing Kolokuma/Opokuma Constituency I, moved a motion to re-elect Benson as the Speaker, a move that was seconded by Mr. Monday Obolo, representing Southern Ijaw Constituency II.

With yesterday’s event, Benson has emerged as the highest ranking state lawmaker in the history of the state, having occupied the Southern Ijaw Constituency IV seat for four consecutive terms.

Speaking after his inauguration, the newly-elected Speaker expressed gratitude to the state governor, Mr. Seriake Dickson and members of the assembly for the confidence reposed in him.

Benson assured members of his readiness to work closely with them irrespective of party affiliations and urged the people of the state to support the assembly in making good laws and ensuring good governance in the state.

He said: “I will continue to serve my people and the state. I thank the governor and my colleagues for their confidence in me. I will not fail them. As a House, we will continue to make good laws to better the society.”

Mr. Alfred Belemote Watson, Brass Constituency II (APGA), Mr. Michael Ogbara, Ogbia III (ADC) and Mr. Munalayefa Gibson, Ogbia II (Labour Party), who were also declared winners of their respective elections by the court are expected to be sworn-in soon by the Speaker.