Senate Screens New NDDC Board Members

26 Oct 2011

Views: 6,530

Font Size: a / A

1402F02.David-Mark.jpg - 1402F02.David-Mark.jpg

Senate President, David Mark

By Kunle Akogun

The Senate Tuesday began the confirmation screening of the new chairman and members of the reconstituted board of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).

The screening, which is being handled by the Senate Committee on the Niger Delta, is expected to be completed within two weeks.

The Senator James Manager-led committee got the mandate to handle the screening following the committal of President Goodluck Jonathan’s letter to the Senate announcing the nomination of members of the new NDDC board.

The commission’s Governing Board was dissolved by President Goodluck Jonathan on September 13.

In the letter read on the floor by Senate President, David Mark, Jonathan requested the upper legislative chamber to confirm Dr. Tarilah Tebepah from Bayelsa State as the new chairman of the commission.

Others listed for confirmation are Dr. Christian Obo (Rivers, Managing Director), Mr. L. E. J. Konboye (Rivers, Executive Director, Finance and Administration), Mr. Edikan Eshett (Akwa Ibom, Executive Director, Project), Mr. Edward Orubo (Bayelsa, member), Dr. Ibitamuno Aminigo (Rivers, member), Chief Solomon Ogba (Delta, member), and Imaobong Johnson (Akwa Ibom, member).
Others are Mr. Peter Ezeobi (Imo, member); Domnic Edem (Cross River, member); Mr. Aloysius Nwagboso (Abia, member); Mr. Omogbemi Oladele (Ondo, member); and Mr. Osahon Imaru (Edo, member).

Other members of the commission who are from the non-oil mineral producing states are Senator Garba Lado (North-west, member); Rima Kwewum (North-east, member); and Senator Tunde Ogbeha (North-central, member). Also, Joe Jakpa made the list, having been nominated by oil producing companies to represent their interest in the commission.

The appointments were made by the President in accordance with section 2(1) of the NDDC Act of 2000, which provides for the establishment of the governing board, which shall comprise a chairman, one person each from the Niger Delta member states, three persons to represent the non-mineral producing states, one representative of the oil producing companies in the Niger Delta, nominated by the oil producing companies, one person each to represent the federal ministries of finance and environment, the managing director of the commission and two executive directors.

Tags: NDDC, Nigeria, Featured, Politics

Comments: 0


Add your comment

Please leave your comment below. Your name will appear next to your comment. We'll also keep you updated by email whenever someone else comments on this page. Your comment will appear on this page once it has been approved by a moderator.

comments powered by Disqus