New Year Honours List: London 2012 Stars Given Recognition

29 Dec 2012

Views: 1,884

Font Size: a / A

up291212-Mo-Farah.jpg - up291212-Mo-Farah.jpg

Double Olympic champion Mo Farah


Stars of the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games have been recognised in the New Year Honours list.

Double Olympic champion Mo Farah, plus heptathlete Jessica Ennis, rower Katherine Grainger and cyclist Victoria Pendleton have each been made a CBE. They all won gold in London.

Paralympic athlete David Weir, who won four gold medals at the 2012 Paralympics, becomes a CBE.

Bradley Wiggins and Ben Ainslie are knighted. Sarah Storey is made a dame.

GB cycling performance director Dave Brailsford and rowing chief David Tanner also receive knighthoods.

Britain's remarkable sporting year is reflected in a list dominated by athletes and coaches from the London Games.

Farah, 29, completed the 5,000m and 10,000m double in August, while Ennis claimed victory in the heptathlon. Grainger, 37, won gold at her fourth attempt, having taken silver in Sydney, Athens and Beijing.

Pendleton retired on a high after adding a gold and a silver to the gold medal she won in Beijing four years ago.

Weir's achievements saw him shortlisted for the BBC's Sports Personality of the Year award after a year in which he won four Paralympic gold medals to add to his two from Beijing. The 33-year-old also won his sixth London

Dressage star Charlotte Dujardin and cyclists Jason Kenny and Laura Trott, who all won double gold at London 2012, have received OBEs, as has Andy Murray, who won the Olympic men's singles title before adding a maiden Grand Slam at the US Open.

Paralympic dressage star Sophie Christiansen, who won three golds in the summer, and swimmer Ellie Simmonds, who was shortlisted for BBC Sport's Personality of the year after winning two golds, a silver and bronze at London 2012, also get OBEs.

Simmonds, 18, said the award was the perfect way to round off a remarkable 2012 for her and her ParalympicsGB team-mates.

"It's been a great honour to be included in the list, which caps an amazing year for me personally and for British sport," she said.

In total, 29 athletes from ParalympicsGB have been recognised in the New Years Honours list following their achievements in the summer. Britain won a total of 120 medals, 34 of them gold, in London.

Tim Hollingsworth, chief executive of the British Paralympic Association, said: "Their performances on the field of play not only received rapturous applause from the crowds at London 2012 and viewers of the TV coverage - many of whom were experiencing Paralympic sport for the first time - but the 11 days of sport that we witnessed this summer also gripped the nation and changed many peoples' perception of disability sport.

"It is fitting that so many of our gold medallists are offered some of the highest tributes possible, which reflect not only their sporting talent but also the sheer hard work and dedication that they put into preparing for their home Games."

Other London 2012 gold medallists appointed MBEs include boxers Nicola Adams, Luke Campbell and Anthony Joshua. GB boxing coach Robert McCracken, who also trains super-middleweight world champion Carl Froch, also gets an MBE.

Triathlete Alistair Brownlee, taekwondo star Jade Jones and shooter Peter Wilson are also recognised.

Rowers Katherine Copeland, Helen Glover, Alex Gregory, Heather Stanning, Sophie Hoskin, Hannah Watkins, kayaker Ed McKeever and canoeist Etienne Stott, are also among those appointed MBE.

Tags: Sports, World, Olympic champion, Mo Farah, London 2012

Comments: 0


Add your comment

Please leave your comment below. Your name will appear next to your comment. We'll also keep you updated by email whenever someone else comments on this page. Your comment will appear on this page once it has been approved by a moderator.

comments powered by Disqus