Buses' Route Delineation: FCT Sets up Enforcement Committee

28 Jan 2013

Views: 2,583

Font Size: a / A

1606N.-Bala-Mohammed..jpg - 1606N.-Bala-Mohammed..jpg

Senator Bala Mohammed

In order to ensure a successful implementation of route delineation for mini and high capacity buses in Abuja, the stakeholders committee set up last week by the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Minister, Senator Bala Mohammed, has broken into five sub-committees.

The sub-committees are saddled with enforcement and monitoring, pricing and palliative, security, public enlightenment and strategy.

The five panels which have members drawn from all the operators and stakeholders in the FCT transport sector, will work under the main committee headed by the FCT Permanent Secretary, Anthony Ozodinobi.

The composition of the committees was announced by Ozodinobi yesterday at the second meeting of the main implementation committee.
Ozodinobi announced the five sub-committees and their composition at a meeting last Wednesday.

All the licensed operators for the four categories, namely mini buses, high capacity buses, taxis and car hire services, were represented at the meeting and had their members in the sub-committees.

The licensed mini bus operators represented include the Self-employed Commercial Drivers Association (SECDA), Abuja Transport Cooperative Society Limited (ATCS) and the National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW).

The delineated routes are distributed in such a way that the mini-buses have 10 routes assigned to them and the high capacity buses allotted seven routes to ply. The routes currently allocated to the mini-buses are the following: Mombassa-Michael Okpara-Olusegun Obasanjo-Moshood Abiola Area 1;  Area 1-Gudu-Apo Mechanic Village; Area 1-Cemetery-Apo Mechanic Village; Jabi-Mbora-Kaura-Gudu Market; Jabi-Mbora-Suncity-Apo Mechanic; Jabi-Mbora-Lugbe; Gwarinpa-Life Camp entrance- First Gate; Bwari Town-Dutse Alhaji-ONEX Expressway; Kubwa Second Gate-Gado Nasko Road-Kubwa First Gate; Mpape-Murtala Muhammed Expressway Junction.

The mini-buses are not permitted to ply the following routes which have been allocated to high-capacity buses: Wuse Market-Eagle Square-Asokoro-AYA-Nyanya; Area 3 Junction-Tafawa Balewa-Herbert Macauly Way-Berger Junction-Jabi; Gudu Market-Apo Quarters-Ahmadu Bello Way-Federal Secretariat-Gwarinpa; AYA-Shehu Shagari-Federal Secretariat-Transcorp-NICON Junction. Under the policy, the services of tricycles (Keke) have been restricted to Gwarinpa Estate; Life Camp; Kado and inside all large estates and the satellite towns. 

The FCT Minister, Senator Bala Mohammed, had on Wednesday January, 2013 set up a broad-based Committee headed by the FCT Permanent Secretary, Mr. Anthony Zikora Ozodinobi to fine-tune the implementation of the route delineation policy for mini and high capacity buses in the federal capital city. In approving the above measures, Mohammed clarified that there is no going back on the route delineation policy as it is for the good of all the residents of the FCT.

The minister said the enforcement of the route delineation together with other transport-related measures remain the best panacea to the problems bedeviling the transportation sector in the FCT.

He listed other challenges to be tackled headlong to include stamping out of illegal second hand car mart, unauthorised car wash centres and illegal motor parks in and around the federal capital city.

Tags: Nigeria, Featured, News, Bala Mohammed

Comments: 0


Add your comment

Please leave your comment below. Your name will appear next to your comment. We'll also keep you updated by email whenever someone else comments on this page. Your comment will appear on this page once it has been approved by a moderator.

comments powered by Disqus