205 Entries Vie for Nigeria Literature Prize

05 May 2013

Views: 1,987

Font Size: a / A

By Oluwafunke

Activities swirling around this year’s edition of the Nigeria Literature Prize revved up on Friday when the Professor Ayo Banjo-led Advisory Board handed over 205 entries to the panel of judges, chaired by Professor Romanus Egudu.  The prize, endowed by the Nigeria LNG, has this year elicited the interest of Nigerian authors both at home and in the diaspora.

Out of the 205 entries received, eight will be vying for the newly-introduced prize for literary criticism on Nigerian literature. This literary criticism prize, according to a statement signed by the Nigeria LNG’s General Manager (External Rwelations) Kudo Eresia-Eke, “it is open to literary critics from all over the world, irrespective of nationality.”

On since 2004, the Nigeria Literature prize rotates among the four literary genres of prose (fiction), poetry, drama and children’s literature. This year, the focus is on poetry – hence the composition of the panel of judges which includes Professor Omolara Ogundipe and Dr Andrew Abah.

A University of Ghana-based poet and professor of English, Professor Kofi Anyidoho will serve as the international consultant of the advisory board.

“Regarding the award for literary criticism, special consideration shall be given to critical essays on the works of the emerging generation of Nigerian writers,” explained Eresia-Eke. “Entries for the literary criticism must have been published in a reputable international literary journal.”

Tags: News, Nigeria, Featured

Comments: 0


Add your comment

Please leave your comment below. Your name will appear next to your comment. We'll also keep you updated by email whenever someone else comments on this page. Your comment will appear on this page once it has been approved by a moderator.

comments powered by Disqus